Breadcrumb

 
« Back | Print | 

AHSC - Major and Related Databases

Creating a PIN

Major Databases

alt - Indicates fulltext or some fulltext content

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) alt
A good place to begin your research, Academic Search Premier provides fulltext for 4,455 scholarly publications, including fulltext for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals.  Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.  Updated daily.

ABI/INFORM Global on Proquest alt
Business database that indexes and abstracts more than 1,300 journals, including 400 English-language international titles. It focuses mainly on areas of management, marketing and human resources, not the social sciences. Updated daily.

PsycINFO (psychology)
An abstract (not full-text) database covering psychological literature from 1887 to the present.  Includes citations to articles from over 1500 journals, as well as citations for chapters in books, selected books and technical reports and dissertations relevant to psychology.  Updated weekly.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Citations to articles and book reviews in over 400 English-language journals covering anthropology, economics, environment, geography, law and criminology, public administration, political science, etc.

Sociological Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles from approximately 2,000 publications dating back to 1963.  In addition to articles, CSA Sociological Abstracts also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and conference papers.  Coverage includes case work, community organization and development, family studies, gerontology, social security programs, sociology, policy studies, poverty and violence in society, substance abuse and addiction.  Updated monthly.

Social Sciences Citation Index on Web of Science
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) "is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences.  It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals."  Updated weekly.

Sport Discus
A bibliographic database that covers all aspects of individual and teams sports, physical education, outdoor recreation, training and equipment, sports history, medicine and leisure studies.  Contains citations to literature from over 2,000 publications dating back to 1830.

Related Databases


CBCA Complete on Proquest alt
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic and fulltext database.  It combines content from four CBCA database subsets: Reference, Current Events, Business, and Education.  Coverage includes Canadian newspapers, magazines and journals in all subject areas from 1982 onward.  Includes fulltext articles from over 260 indexed Canadian periodicals starting in 1993.  Updated Daily.

CPI.Q. (Canadian Periodical Index) (multidisciplinary) alt
CPI.Q. provides citations to more than 400 English and French language journals and magazines, including approximately 30 American titles and approximately 80 business periodicals.  All subject areas are represented, with emphasis on Canadian and international issues.  Updated quarterly.

ECO (Electronic Collections Online)  (multidisciplinary)
OCLC's Electronic Collections Online is accessible through FirstSearch, and it provides bibliographic information for a growing collection of over 5,400 electronic journals from over 70 publishers. Coverage starts from 1995 onwards. Updated Daily.

ERIC (Education)
Covers subject areas such as vocational education, counseling, languages and literature, information technology, assessment and evaluation, early childhood education and higher education.  Updated Quarterly. 
 
** Most ERIC Documents from 1993 onward are now available electronically (fulltext) via E*Subscribe alt
 
Francis
Francis is a multidisciplinary database covering a wide range of subjects.  It consists of 19 databases which include citations and abstracts to international journals, books, conference proceedings, French dissertations and research reports in the humanities (archaeology, art history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory and religion); the social sciences (administration, computers and the law, economics, education, ethnology, geography, Latin America, management, public health, and sociology).  Most of the files are indexed in French and English.  Updated monthly.

Ingenta alt
Ingenta is a periodical index database and article delivery system that lists articles from over 20,000 publications. Subject coverage is roughly divided as follows: science, technology and medicine, social sciences, business, humanities, and fine arts; 3%.

Population Index
Population Index covers all fields of interest to demographers, including fertility, mortality, population size and growth, migration, nuptiality and the family, research methodology, projections and predictions, historical demography, and demographic and economic interrelations.  Indexes monographs, journal articles, working papers, and doctoral dissertations.

ProQuest Databases alt
Provides access to the full menu of ProQuest databases. These include ABI/INFORM Global, Canadian Newsstand and CBCA Complete.   Fulltext article availability and options (print, save to diskette, e-mail, or fax) vary from journal to journal.

Repère alt
Repère is a multidisciplinary index of articles published in 270 French-language periodicals: 185 Québec periodicals, 10 Canadian periodicals from outside of Québec and 70 periodicals from Europe.  Some articles are available fulltext.

Social Services Abstracts
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

page last updated on: Thursday 27 October 2011

Concordia University - Footer