Art History Research Guide - General Art & Architecture Databases
- Art Full Text
- Indexes almost 400 journals published from 1984 to present; provides broad coverage of all periods of art including contemporary art.
- Art Retrospective
- covers art journals published between 1929 to 1984 providing broad coverage of all periods of art including contemporary art.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
- Provides citation to journals, books and exhibition catalogues published since 1974. Covers all aspects of art from the 19th century up to recent contemporary art for works.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- Provides citations to articles on architecture, city planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and historic preservation, from 2,000 periodicals published worldwide between the 1930s and present.
- BHA: Bibliography-History of Art
- Includes citations to journal articles, books, and exhibition catalogues covering late antiquity (4th century A.D.) to the present. Covers 1975-2007.
- International Bibliography of Art
- Successor to BHA, it includes citations to journal articles, books, and exhibition catalogues covering all periods. Publications covered since 2008.
- DAAI: Design and Applied Art Index
- References from more than 450 design and craft journals published from 1987 to the present, covering all aspects of decorative arts, design, crafts, and studios.
- JSTOR
- A collection of full-text journal articles from over 100 art, archaeology and architecture journals as well as other relevant disciplines. Note: The most recent five years of journals are not available - use other databases for coverage of these years.
- Abstracts in Anthropology
- Covers a wide range of journals including topics on archaeology and cultural anthropology for all areas of the world.
- Academic Search Premier
- A multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts to a wide range of scholarly publications including art history journals.
- Adam Matthew Digital Collections
- Contains fulltext manuscripts, periodicals, rare printed sources, and images from various collections.
- America History & Life
- Provides references to articles, books and theses covering the history of Canada and the United States.
- Anthro Source
- Includes full-text journal articles for a wide range of anthropological topics including prehistoric art, textiles and more.
- Année philologique
- Covers all aspects of the classical Greek and Roman world.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Provides references to journal articles and book chapters on various aspects of art in East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- Factiva
- Includes full-text of international newspapers. Useful for finding information on emerging artists as well as exhibition notices and reviews, art and architectural criticism, and auction reports.
- Film and Television Literature Index
- Provides references to journal articles on film and includes video art.
- First Nations Periodical Index
- References to articles from 20 periodicals dealing with aboriginal peoples in Canada.
- Francis
- A multidisciplinary database covering a wide range of subjects including art and archeology.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies
- Multidiscilinary database covering books, journal articles, etc. pertaining to all areas of Latin America.
- Historical Abstracts
- Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters and dissertations for world history since 1450.
- Humanities Abstracts
- A multidisciplinary database covering classical art as well as performing arts.
- IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts
- Provides references and some full-text to journal articles dealing with film, performance, video art and more.
- Iter: Medieval & Renaissance
- Provides citations to journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, and catalogues covering these periods.
- New York Times Historical
- Provides full-text articles from 1851 to 3 years before current date. Useful for finding information on exhibition reviews.
- Periodicals Archive Online
- Provides the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities from 1802 to 1995; includes over 500 titles.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full-text
- Provides full-text theses and dissertations from 1997 to present; useful for obtaining overview of topic and bibliographies.
- Times Digital Archive
- A full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-1985.
page last updated on: Friday 7 October 2011