Databases
Choose by subject area or begin with one of the three Major Databases:
- SciFinder
Scholar (Chemical Abstracts): The most comprehensive resource for finding articles in
chemistry. Provides multiple search options, such as Research Topic or Chemical Substance (structure, name, CAS-RN,
molecular formula).
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals:
Full text access to more than 30 journals published by ACS.
-
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)Journals: Full text access to more than 30 journals published by RSC.
- Journal of Chemical Education:
Geared towards chemistry teachers but also a great resource for students with reviews of new areas in chemistry,
classroom demonstrations, and laboratory experiments.
- CCINFOweb:
CCINFOweb of the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) provides access to several health and safety databases.
- TOXNET: A collection of databases
covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas from the National Library of Medicine.
Includes TOXLINE
with more than 3 million citations on the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
- Catalysts
& Catalyzed Reactions: Abstracts, with reactions and citations, from over 80 journals. Coverage includes all areas of catalysis research, including homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis with emphasis on current growth areas such as chiral catalysts, polymerisation catalysts, enzymatic catalysts and clean catalytic methods.
- Analytical Abstracts:
Abstracts from 1980 to present and covers over 100 journals. Searchable by analyte, technique or matrix.
- Natural
Product Updates Online: Selected citations from over 100 journals. Covers isolation studies, biosynthesis, new natural products, known compounds from new sources, structure determinations, new properties and biological activities.
-
PubMed (Medline): Abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature.
- BIOSIS Previews: Most comprehensive life sciences index with content from Biological Abstracts. Search
Chemical & Biochemical field by chemical, gene name, sequence terms or CAS-RN.
- Web of Science: Includes Science Citation Index Expanded with extensive coverage of the
journal literature of the sciences.
- ScienceDirect:
Full text of more than 1,700 Elsevier Science journals. Those titles not available are identified by a white icon indicating "non-subscribed".
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology: Properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed. It is also available in print.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry : Find information over a broad range of subjects including inorganic and organic chemicals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, food chemistry, analytical methods, and environmental protection.
- Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry: Encompasses the whole of inorganic chemistry, including Bioinorganic Chemistry, Physical and Theoretical Methods, Organometallic Chemistry, Solid State Chemistry, Main Group Elements, Transition Metals.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium: Contains dictionary, language and subject reference works published by
Oxford University Press. Search the
Dictionary of Chemistry separately or all
sciences together.
- howstuffworks
"Science Channel": Find encyclopedic explanations on how
stuff works as well as relevant web sites from this free resource (enhanced by Google).
- Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology:
Glossary listing nearly 3000 terms.
- The Gold Book - IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology:
Popularly referred to as 'The Gold Book', it collects terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations published in
Pure and Applied Chemistry and other IUPAC 'Color Books'.
- IUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Compounds: The 1993 Guide to IUPAC
Nomenclature of Organic Compounds.
NOTE: Check out Concordia University Libraries' guide on
How to find theses.
NOTE: Visit the Libraries' guide to
Patents & Trademarks to find patents for Canada, the United States and Europe.
page last updated on: Wednesday 9 November 2011