Finance Research Guide - Subject Databases
Academic Articles
- ProQuest Business Databases
Covers all aspects of management, accounting, finance,
marketing, decision sciences and many areas of economics.
Includes access to scholarly journals via ABI/Inform Global
as well as trade journals. Full text coverage varies from journal to
journal. Retrospective index and abstract coverage back to 1971
(selective) with more complete coverage from 1987 onwards.
- Business Source Complete
Provides access to full text scholarly journals, business magazines, country reports, company and industry profiles.
Includes online access to important journals such as McKinsey Quarterly and Harvard Business Review.
- EconLit
Citations with selected abstracts to literature in the field of economics. Includes journal
articles, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, book
chapters and essays. International in scope. Updated monthly.
- Business Periodicals Index HF 5001 B843 WEB
Historical business resource. Indexes both the major scholarly and general periodicals in business back to 1953.
Company Financials
- Factiva.com
Select the Companies/Markets tab and then Company to
select/search a company. Financial data is available in
the Reports section
- FP
Advisor
Includes Company Snapshots
that profiles all Canadian public companies.
Each snapshot provides links to other sources of FP financials,
ratios and investor data for individual companies, industry data for
33 industries, a directory of predecessor and defunct companies and
the Directory of Directors. The
Corporate Analyzer section provides detailed information on
company financials and market data (beta...) while the Corporate
Survey section focuses on stock information . FP
Advisor also includes sections on dividends and new issues of
Canadian companies as well as a section on Mergers and
Acquisitions.
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides business and
financial information for 23,000 U.S. and international companies. SEC
filings (real-time and archived to 1993) are included for the 10,000+
NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchange companies. Financials for 15
years can be downloaded to Excel. Annual reports, where
available, begin with 1996 and will be archived. Tearsheets (updated
quarterly and providing a company overview, ratios, and prospects) are
available for 2,000 U.S. companies. Recent news stories about a
company are listed for 6 weeks. Updated weekly.
In basic search mode, you may search by
company name or ticker symbol. In advanced search mode, you may search
for companies meeting specified criteria such as SIC or NAICS code,
geographical area(s), revenues, profits, specified words in
descriptive text, etc.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage provides access to the following:
- Bond Reports: corporate bond reports
that includes pricing and yield data, the current and
historical S&P credit rating and more.
- Corporation Records: profiles of public
companies stating company background, stock and bond
information, balance sheet and earnings details.
- Company Profiles: comprehensive
profiles of publicly traded companies that includes business
descriptions, an interactive charting tool, statistics,
analyst ratings, valuation and financial information, as
well as the latest stock price quote, company news, and
information on competitors.
- Industry Surveys: in-depth financial
and business analysis of 52 U.S. industries. Includes data,
forecasts and trends across 115 industry sectors. Useful for
identifying industry trends and competitors, including major
Canadian companies.
- Fund Reports: mutual fund profiles that
includes an overview of each fund, comparison of the fund's
performance with the market and its competitors, risk and
return information, a current quote, charts, and statistics.
- The Outlook: S&P's weekly investment
advisory newsletter. Current and historical issues from 1996
onwards are available full text.
- Register (Private Companies): profiles
of approximately 85,000 private companies, including:
address, telephone number, officers and directors, total
annual sales, number of employees, line of business and
NAICS number.
- Register (Public Companies): brief
descriptions of publicly traded companies, including stock
symbol, total annual sales, number of employees, officer
names, and NAICS number.
- Stock Reports: detailed equity
evaluations of public companies listed on the New York,
American, NASDAQ and regional stock exchanges. Includes
analyst recommendations and fundamental, quantitative and
technical analysis for the stocks listed.
- Value Line Investment Survey
The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than
90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Value Line
also provides economic and stock market commentary in the
Selection and Opinion section. Updated weekly.
Business Newspapers
- Factiva
Offers over 10,000 news sources, including major business
publications, newspapers and newswires from around the world.
Includes full text access to current issues of the Wall
Street Journal, Globe and Mail, Barron's, Forbes, Fortune, The
Economist and more. Updated continuously.
- Eureka
Fulltext of French Canadian newspapers:
La Presse 1985 onward, Le Devoir 1992 onward, Le
Soleil 1992 onward, Le Droit 1993 onward, the weekly
newspaper Voir 1992 onward; and the monthly magazine
l'Actualité 1992 onward. Full text access to Les Affaires is also available.
- CBCA Complete
Provides full text articles from over 260
active Canadian periodicals and other sources of current affairs
information. In addition, CBCA Complete also includes indexing
of about 800 additional active periodicals and a variety of daily news
sources. For the full text of Canadian newspapers, including the Montreal Gazette, see
Canadian
Newsstand.
- Globe
& Mail
Globe & Mail, Canada's Heritage
From 1844, is the electronic full-page newspaper archive of The
Globe from June 1844 until December 2003. Coverage includes all
the stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds,
political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages
of Canada's National Newspaper, dating from 1844 to 2003.
For more recent news, use Factiva.com.
- Wall Street Journal
America's business newspaper of record can
be searched on ABI/INFORM
Global (Use the Publication tab to select only this newspaper)
or Factiva.
Both databases have access to the current full-text version of The Wall Street Journal, covering the
years 1984 to present (with daily updates). For dates before
1984, see
ProQuest Historical Newspapers, which provides digital access to
WSJ from 1889 to 1993.
Brokerage Reports
- Investext via Thomson ONE
Investext provides investment, company and industry reports from brokerage firms in North America, Asia, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East.
To access Investext within Thomson ONE, make sure that you
are in the Company Analysis menu (navigation menus are
located on the left-hand side of the page), then select the link/folder
called Research. From there the folder opens. Click on the
Conduct Research Report Search link and this will
give you access to all Investext reports. Please note
that Thomson ONE only works with Internet Explorer.
- Lexis-Nexis
Please note that Lexis-Nexis is only available in the Library. Please ask at the reference desk to get access. Once you log in, Select the tab
Company & Financial then go
to Analysts & Brokerage Research.
- Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Type in the name of the company or ticker that you
are looking for in the Company Profiles section. From
there, click on the link Stock Reports (located on the
left-hand side of the page) to get a detailed report
authored by an S&P analyst.
- Value Line Investment Survey
The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source
of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks,
more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.
Each company featured in Value Line has an analyst
commentary that is updated regularly.
Finance Directories
- Financial Services Canada
Published annually, the Financial Services Canada directory is a master file of current contacts and information that serves
the needs of the entire financial services industry in Canada. Use this source for get names and contact information of industry professionals,
senior executives, portfolio managers, financial advisors, agency bureaucrats and elected representatives in all Canadian provinces.
-
Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms
This annual directory offers direct access to over 2,300 US, Canadian and International Venture Capital and Private Equity Firms,
with detailed contact information and data on investment and funds.
-
Canadian Business Resource
Online database that provides a detailed profile of the major companies in Canada, it's history, profiles of the board of directors and contact information of key executives.
-
FP Advisor: Directory of Directors
Use this section of the database to get contact and background information on over 17,000 directors and executives of Canadian companies who reside in Canada.
- S&P's NetAdvantage: Security Dealers
Security Dealers of North America (SDNA) is
a listing of North American securities dealers, providing a
brief description of the business, location and contact
information.
Commodity Data
- International Financial Statistics
Compiled by the IMF, commodity prices are updated on
a monthly basis. There are two options associated with
Commodity Prices. The first option, entitled Market
Prices and Unit Values, represents data that are
the market prices reported for commodities
traded internationally, in units of quantity frequently
used in the respective commodity markets, and expressed in
U.S. dollars. The second option, entitled Indices of
Market Prices as Unit Values, represents the same data expressed as indices.
-
UN Comtrade
Commodity Trade Statistics database which includes information on import and export by commodity on a country by country basis. For assistance a brief help guide is available.
-
Datastream
Select Commodities as your category of data.
From there, you can choose to either search for a
commodity, or browse for commodities in the tab labeled
Commodities Explorer. To use Datastream,
please visit the JMSB labs (MB 12.254, MB 11.314, MB
12.314 ) or contact the
Finance
Librarian to make an appointment.
-
CRB Commodity Yearbook
The 2009 Yearbook contains worldwide supply/demand and production/consumption data for all the basic commodities and futures markets, including all the major markets in interest rates, currencies, energy, and stock index futures. This resource is only available as a print reference book at the Webster Library
and as a CD ROM on Webster terminal W-228.
Historical Stock Data
- Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC)
Historical price data for common and preferred equities listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange.
Daily data starts as of 1975 and monthly data is available as far back as 1950. Data can be retrieved in different formats that are suited for viewing, printing, and exporting to various statistical packages
(SPSS, SAS), or spreadsheets (Excel).
- Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP)
CRSP provides acces to NYSE/AMEX/Nasdaq Daily
and Monthly Security Prices and other historical data
related to over 25,000 companies. Data goes as far back
as 1924 in some cases and can be retrieved in different formats that are suited for viewing, printing, and exporting to various statistical packages (SPSS, SAS), or spreadsheets
(Excel).
- Datastream
Updated daily, use Datastream to access
historical, global coverage of equities, indices,
commodities, options and futures, foreign exchanges,
bond markets and economic data. The database provides historical equity information that extends back to the
1970s, but coverage will vary. To use Datastream,
please visit the JMSB labs (MB 12.254, MB 11.314, MB
12.314 ) or contact the
Finance
Librarian to make an appointment.
- Stock Guide
For 1000 Canadian publicly traded companies, Stock Guide provides full reports with complete fundamentals and
financial ratios, and stocks grouped by industry. Financial information on 1000 de-listed companies is also available.
Updated monthly. Please note that this resource is only
available in the Webster Library on terminal W-228.
Economic Data
- IMF: International Financial Statistics (IFS)
Maintained by the International Monetary Fund, the
IFS database is a standard source of international
statistics on all aspects of international and
domestic finance. It reports, for over 200 countries
of the world, current data needed in the analysis of
problems of international payments and of inflation
and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates,
international liquidity, international banking,
money and banking, interest rates, prices,
production, international transactions, national
accounts and commodities. Please note that the
Library also subscribes to other IMF online
products:
Direction of Trade (DOT), Government Finance
Statistics (GFS) and Balance of Payments statistics
(BOP).
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Country reports of approximately 200 countries detailing political and economic trends. Each report is updated on a monthly
basis. EIU also contains
socio-economic data that can be directly
exported to a spreadsheet. Click on
the launch button located just below the
data tool label on the top left of the
page to access both historical and forecast
data.
- SourceOECD
This resource includes the full text of all of
OECD publications, that is
periodicals (19 titles), monographic studies
and statistical databases. Periodical titles
include OECD Economic Surveys, OECD
Economic Outlook, OECD Observer, to
name a few. These publications are of
primary concern for Economics and Finance
students and faculty. The focus of the
publications is on international economics
and finance, but the range of issues covered
goes from agriculture to transport, energy,
science, etc. Statistical data are
downloadable in Excel and Beyond 20/20
format.
- World Development Indicators
The World Development Indicators (WDI) publication
is the World Bank's premier annual
compilation of data about development. The
WDI includes more than 900 indicators in
over 80 tables organized in 6 sections:
World View, People, Environment, Economy,
States and Markets, and Global Links.
For further resources, see
Government Publications on the Web
page last updated on: Thursday 26 January 2012