Canadian Newstand on Proquest
English language Canadian newspapers including The Montreal Gazette. 48 hour time lag for most newspapers.
Eureka
Our source for French language newspapers including La Presse and Le Devoir. Also includes hundreds of regional Canadian newspapers from all regions of Canada .
Communication and Mass Media Complete Essential for finding scholarly and trade magazine articles related to news media, journalism, broadcasting and public relations.
Limit your search to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)" to retrieve only academic articles.
Communication Abstracts Mostly academic articles, books and book chapters on all aspects of communication, broadcasting, radio, television,
journalism, public relations, advertising, and communication theory; includes abstracts. Coverage is from 1977 onwards.
CPI.Q Useful for retrieving articles on Canadian journalism issues and on Canadian media publications
and industries.
Academic Search Complete A multidisciplinary database, covering all disciplines, which includes some full-text. Covers scholarly
publications as well as magazines and some newspapers.
Index to Journalism Periodicals Discontinued as of 1996. Published by the University of Western Ontario's School of Journalism. Contains 24,000
citations from trade, professional and academic journals related to journalism and mass communications. While most of
the titles indexed are from Canada or the USA, some international journals are also indexed. No longer updated.
Additional databases for Literary Journalism and Journalism History:
Humanities Abstracts A multidisciplinary database with good coverage of journalism topics including literary journalism and journalism history.
Literature Online
Includes primary works, reference works and literary criticism. It includes ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English
Language and Literature) and MLAIB (MLA International Bibliography), important databases to find literary criticism of authors.
To access ABELL and MLAIB and a combined search of both databases, click on Criticism and Reference, then Criticism.
Historical Abstracts
Essential for journalism history topics outside of North America
America History & Life
Essential for journalism history topics in Canada and the United States.