Though journal articles covering issues of interest to sociologists and sociology students can be found in
resources from virtually all
subject areas,
the databases below are often the best places to start for sociology courses and topics:
-
SOCIndex: On EBSCO, the same platform as Academic Search Complete, but more focused on sociologial literature.
- Academic Search Complete:
large, multidisciplinary and easy to use; includes lots of full-text articles.
- Sociological Abstracts:
an authoritative well-indexed source that includes scholarly/academic sociology journals and topics.
- Google Scholar:
a simple and powerful way to broadly search for scholarly articles, reports and books. If
if you are a novice searcher, however, it may not be easy to decipher the list of results. For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences
or use the Concordia VPN.
For news, magazine and journal articles of Canadian origin or covering Canadian subjects
(but not necessarily academic or anthropological material) start with these
general sources:
-
ProQuest Combined Canadian: indexes a wide variety of Canadian sources, from newspapers, transcripts and newsletters,
to academic journals and theses.
-
Canadian Periodical Index (CPI-Q): newspapers, magazines, journals.
-
Factiva: Full text of international newspapers (including Canadian), transcripts and newswires
(license for only one user at a time).
-
Canadian Newstand: full-text access to Canadian daily newspapers including the Gazette.
En français
-
Eureka.cc: full text access to English and French language Québec & Canadian newspapers , magazines, newswires, blogs and
broadcast transcripts.
-
Érudit: academic journal articles, theses, books and book chapters - mostly from Québec.
-
Repère: magazine and academic journal articles, mostly from Québec. No full text.
Below is a sampling of additional useful sources for sociology research:
Multi-subject databases:
NOTE: See also Anthropology Databases
Specialized databases:
NOTE: See also First Peoples Studies and
Research Guides in all other subject areas.
The sources below can be good starting points for locating local and international statistics, government and country information.
NOTE: If none of these sources fit the bill or if you have trouble using them,
contact me for more suggestions.
REVIEW or SURVEY journals try to give an overview of a topic or research area, and provide long lists of references.
Here are two to try:
ENCYCLOPEDIAS can provide that all-important background and context for research papers. Here is a sampling:
NOTE: there are many more encyclopedias, reviews or other reference sources (online and in print) that may be appropriate, depending on your topic
-- See our
Online Reference: Encyclopedias guide or contact me for help.
NOTE: See also Concordia University Libraries' guide on
How to find theses.
When using library research tools (as well as Google) or
in examining bibliographies from encyclopedias and other sources, you will sometimes come across citations to texts or documents
that you would like to access as a Concordia student, either online or in the library.
To find out if you can access the text of any source, you must first
determine whether it is a book, book chapter or journal article. If you can't tell, get help from one of our
Ask a Librarian services.
TO ACCESS BOOKS & BOOK CHAPTERS:
- Just use the Title tab in CLUES to look for
the name of the BOOK (not the book chapter).
- You can also use the Author tab in CLUES
to look for
the LAST name of the AUTHOR or EDITOR of the book (not of the book chapter).
TO ACCESS JOURNAL ARTICLES:
First look for the
name of the JOURNAL (
not the article title):
- ONLINE: Via our E-journals
search box and then select the year, volume and issue that you need.
- or IN PRINT: Enter the journal title in CLUES and then go to
the Webster Periodicals section on the 3rd floor of the library to get the year, volume and issue that you need. Or use our Article Delivery Service, described below
STILL NOT SURE: CITATION INCOMPLETE OR UNCLEAR?
- Try using Google,
Google Scholar or
Google Books to find out more and
get a complete citation or reference.
- You can then look up the citation via the methods above for BOOKS and
JOURNAL ARTICLES - though you may even get lucky and directly find the
text you need online.
**TIP: In Google you can always use quotation marks ("") around the titles you are seeking for quicker and more
precise retrieval.