Breadcrumb

 
« Back | Print | 

Finding Articles and more: Women’s Studies Databases

Core Women’s Studies Databases

Though journal articles covering women’s issues and feminist research can be found in resources from virtually all subject areas, the databases below are often the best places to start for Women’s Studies courses and topics:

Three EBSCO databases:

  • Academic Search Complete: large and multidisciplinary, includes major women’s studies journals and magazines; includes lots of full-text articles.
  • Gender Studies Database: Uses authors' own keywords, covers more gender-related issues than any of the other databases, but not always consistent.
  • SOCIndex: Sociological Abstract's main competitor; includes more popular titles, good for psychosocial issues.

TIP: to search all three EBSCO databases at once, just select any one to begin with, and once connected click on the "Choose Databases" link at the top of the search screen.

  • Sociological Abstracts: includes important scholarly/academic women’s studies journals.
  • Google Scholar: a simple and powerful way to broadly search for scholarly articles, reports and books. If if you are a novice searcher, however, it may not be easy to decipher the list of results. For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences OR use the Concordia VPN.
  • Contemporary Women’s Issues: It can be difficult to find relevant results using this database; try limiting your search to "Title and Enhanced Title".

Canada & Québec: News & Academic Sources

For news, magazine and journal articles of Canadian origin or covering Canadian subjects (but not limited to women’s or feminist issues), start with these:

En français
  • Érudit: academic journal articles, theses, books and book chapters - mostly from Québec.
  • Eureka.cc: Full text access to Québec daily newspapers.
  • Repère: magazine and academic journal articles, mostly from Québec.

Related Databases & Research Guides

Below is a sampling of my top picks of additional useful sources for women's studies:

  • Alternative Press Index: citations to articles from non-mainstream sources. Topics include feminism, ecology, gay and lesbian, indigenous, minorities, anarchism.
  • Communication Abstracts: the major database for scholarly mass media studies.
  • PsycINFO: the major database for psychological research.
Multi-subject database picks:
Specialized database picks:

NOTE: See also Aboriginal sources and Research Guides in all other subject areas.

Statistics & Government Information

The sources below can be good starting points for locating local and international statistics, government and country information.

NOTE: If none of these sources fit the bill or if you have trouble using them, contact me for more suggestions.

Encyclopedias: Background & Context

Encyclopedias can provide that all-important background and context for research papers. Here is a sampling:

Online:
In Print (on the Reference Shelves at Webster Library):

NOTE: there are many, many more encyclopedias or other reference sources that may be appropriate, depending on your topic -- See our Online Reference: Encyclopedias guide or contact me for help.

DISSERTATIONS AND THESES

NOTE: See also Concordia University Libraries' guide on How to find theses.

HISTORICAL & PRIMARY SOURCES

Articles about Women's History
In addition to the Core and Canadian article databases listed above:
Primary Sources

NOTE: For more information on historical sources see the History Research Guide.

HELP: Can't find the articles?

Accessing the actual full text of the articles or other documents you located in the databases above can be a challenge. contact me for help or take a look at this helpful guide or quick instructional video:

page last updated on: Friday 10 February 2012

Concordia University - Footer